Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Subcommittee Annual Report 2017-2018


University of Alabama

Faculty Senate

Mirit Byal-Cohen & Osiris Molina, Subcommittee Co-Chairs

Kelly Guyotte, Sheila Black, Ignacio Rodeno, Melvin Lewis, Anne Levy

The 2017-2018 incarnation of this committee was inaugurated by the Faculty Senate in October 2018 in response to the hiring of Dr. Christine Taylor, Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. The committee began to meet monthly with Dr. Taylor to create a dialogue between her office and the faculty and to establish new and improved methods of bringing together the many disparate activities on campus that are designed to promote diversity, equity and inclusion.

Important to that mission is creating a stronger bond with the Crossroads Center and its director, Lane McClelland. Lane’s efforts to bolster diversity at UA have been significant, and the committee will make every effort to support her efforts.

One of the principal issues that our committee will address in the next academic year includes the possibility of adapting or adding a diversity component to the university core curriculum. How and where this component is implemented will be a point of discussion.

Establishing caucus groups among the faculty to create greater awareness and connectivity is another proposal before the committee for the next academic year. A brief incarnation of this occurred a few years ago in the College of Arts and Sciences bringing together Hispanic faculty, and more can be done in this regard.

Our committee can and will serve as a sounding board for Dr. Taylor’s office in all manner of activity, from addressing student behavior issues to faculty recommendations for addressing diversity and equity issues in and out of the classroom.

This committee is highly energetic and committed to make a difference for all university constituents. We look forward to continued success in 2017-2018.

To view the content above as a pdf, click here.

Contact: Sarah Miesse, semiesse@culverhouse.ua.edu