INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DUTIES: Assist the administration in establishing a coherent and consistent role as a major comprehensive university in teaching, research, and service in the international sector. Advise the administration on the most appropriate and effective means for strengthening existing international programs and activities on campus and planning and implementing appropriate new ventures in the international arena. Advise the administration on establishment and review of international linkage programs. Advise the Office of International Student and Scholar Services on the ongoing development and implementation of systems for the recruitment, retention, and counseling of students and scholars from outside the United States.

COMPOSITION: By 1999 this committee shall consist of no more than 11 faculty and staff (the majority of whom shall be faculty), 2 students and 2 community members, plus appropriate administrative liaison members. That number can be achieved by normal attrition due to expiration of existing appointments. The student representation should include one student appointed by the International Student Association and one student who has demonstrated commitment to international education, such as participation in a study-abroad program. (Ideally, one student would be an undergraduate and one would be a graduate student.) One faculty member is appointed by the Faculty Senate. Two community members are appointed through the President's Office. In addition, the following person or that person's designee shall serve as liaisons: Capstone International Program Center Director, Study Abroad Advisor, International Trade Center Director, Office of International Students and Scholars Director, English Language Institute Representative, Director of Admissions and Financial Aid and University Registrar, The administrative liaisons shall be non-voting members.

REPORTING CHANNEL: Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs

MEMBERSHIP:

Chairperson

Daniel Arce	2000
Kathleen Barnard	2001
Edith D. Barnes	2000
Patricia Moyer	2002
Philip Perkins	2002
Luoheng Han	2000
Ron Robel	2002
Michael O'Rear	2001

INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

John Galasnik	2002
Muhammed Sharif	2001

Student Members

Faculty Senate Representative

Majeed Alsikafi

Community Members

Dara Longrear

Lucy Jordan

Liaison Members

Graduate School Representative

Lisa Harris

Nisa Miranda

Jane Stanfield

Roger Thompson

Bill Wallace

Fife MacDuff

Marilyn Emplaincourt