FACULTY SENATE MEETING APRIL 15, 2008 – 3:30 PM – 150 SHELBY HALL

APPROVED MINUTES

ABSENT WITHOUT ALTERNATE: Seth Appiah-Opoku, Sheila Black, Priscilla Davis, Martin Evans, Arun Gupta, Bronwen Lichtenstein, Tsun-Zee Mai, Tim Murphy, Shane Street, Seth Panitch, Lonnie Strickland, Doug Cook, Akram Temimi, Karen Burgess, Thad Ulzen, Angela Benson, Steve Thoma, Srinath Viswanathan, Tom Zeiler, Anware Haque, Steven Hobbs, Norm Stein, Melondie Carter, Rona Donahoe

ABSENT WITH ALTERNATE: Janis Edwards/Steve Miller; Deidre Leaver-Dunn/Stuart Usdan

GUESTS: Cory Ferraez, SGA representative; Cassandra Smothers, Dialog

Roll call and quorum check by Faculty Senate Secretary Jeanette Vandermeer.

The minutes from the March 25, 2008 Faculty Senate meeting were approved.

Vice-President Clark Midkiff welcomed the new senators to the Faculty Senate in the absence of President Karen Steckol. A new senator orientation was held prior to the full Senate meeting conducted by Past President John Vincent.

A chair with the University seal and plaque and an engraved gavel were presented to John Vincent in recognition of his outstanding and exemplary service as Faculty Senate President for the last two years (2006-08).

The Faculty Senate Steering Committee President, Karen Steckol, had earlier nominated Rona Donahoe to serve as Parliamentarian of the Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate accepted unanimously.

Each Faculty Senate committee separated into meetings to elect co-chairs for their committee. The Faculty Senate approved the Faculty Senate committee and Faculty Senate University representative lists unanimously. The following were selected:



STEERING COMMITTEE 2008-09

	Division Name	Ext. E-mail	Con	nmitttee
A&S	Lowell Baker	1889 wbaker@art.as.ua.edu	FL	2010
LIB	Marcia Barrett	6390 mbarrett@ua.edu	AA	2010

NUR	Melondie Carter	4030	mcarter@bama.ua.edu	SA	2009
A&S	Carolyn Cassady	8443	ccassady@bama.ua.edu	SA	2009
CHS	Margaret Garner	2880	mgarner@cchs.ua.edu	Legislative Agenda	2009
A&S	Rona Donahoe	5095	rdonahoe@geo.ua.edu	Parliamentarian	2010
A&S	Deidre Leaver-Dunn	8683	dleaver@bama.ua.edu	FL	2010
Law	Steven Hobbs	5247	shobbs@law.ua.edu	FA	2010
A&S	Michael Martone	8495	mmartone@english.as.ua.edu	Gov	2010
A&S	Katrina Ramonell	5960	kramonel@bama.ua.edu	Fin	2010
C&BA	John Mason	2904	jomason@cba.ua.edu	GOV & FS Past Pres	2009
ENG	Clark Midkiff	1645	cmidkiff@coe.eng.ua.edu	FS Sec	2010
A&S	Ed Stephenson	1841	estephen@bama.ua.edu	RS	2010
A&S	Karen Steckol	7131	ksteckol@bama.ua.edu	FS VP	2009
ELI	Marci Daugherty	7447	marcid@eli.ua.edu	Gov	2010
NUR	Jeanette Vandermeer	9873	jvanderm@bama.ua.edu	FA	2010
A&S	John Vincent	9203	jvincent@bama.ua.edu	AA & FS Pres & Past Pres	

Last update: 4-17-08



Committee Representatives 2008-2009

UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE	SENATE REPRESENTATIVE	
Academics & Athletics	Bruce Trace	2009
Awards	Seth Appiah-Opoku	2010
Institutional Biosafety Research	Ed Stephenson	2010
Campus Master Plan	Srinath Viswanathan	2009
Campus Security & Safety	Tom Zeiler	2009
Coalition for Diversity & Inclusiveness	Cassandra Simon	2010
Committee on University Committees	Karen Steckol	2009

Conflict of Interest Policy	Arun Gupta	2009
Equal Opportunity	Seth Panitch	2009
Faculty and Staff Benefits	Roy Maize	2009
Faculty Participation in the Selection of Deans and Department Chairpersons and in the Evaluation of Academic Programs Committee	John Vincent	2010
Graduate Council	Harold Stowell	2010
Committee on Rhodes, Truman, Fulbright, and Marshall Scholarships	Chase Wrenn	2009
Health and Safety	Kevin Chou	2010
Human Relations Council	Tim Murphy	2010
Information Technology	Jerry Weaver	2009
Institutional Animal Care and Use	John Mason	2009
Institutional Review for Human Subjects	Bronwen Lichtenstrein (non-medical) Karen Burgess (Medical)	2010 2010
Intercollegiate Athletics	Clark Midkiff	2009
Interim Program Coordination	Steve Thoma	2010
International Education	Marci Daugherty	2010
Legislative Agenda	Margaret Garner	2009
Libraries	Diane Sekeres	2010
Media Planning Board	Marcia Barrett	2010
Parking and Traffic Regulations	David Arnold	2010
Research Advisory	Shane Street	2009
Research Grants	Vicki Peeples	2010
Resources and Priorities	John Vincent	2010
Staff Development	Lee Pike	2009
Student and Campus Life	Douglas Lightfoot	2009
Student Health	Thaddeus Ulzen	2010
Teacher Education Council	Martin Evans	2009
Undergraduate Programs & Services	Tsun-Zee Mai	2010
University Recreation	Doug Cook	2009

Information concerning student block seating should be given at the Intercollegiate Athletic meeting the first Wednesday in May. A report will be given to the Steering Committee meeting. Progress on this issue has been slow.

The proposed state appropriation for higher education will drastically reduce funding for higher education. Efforts are ongoing to adjust the proposed reduction percentage.

Each Faculty Senate committee introduced their newly elected co-chairs, as indicated in the above list. The Faculty and Senate Governance committee will have Michael Martone as co-chair for Fall 2008 and Marci Daugherty as co-chair for Spring 2009. The senators were encouraged to forward any issue of concern to the appropriate committee.

On May 6 from 10:00-12:00 in Ferguson Center representatives of the Counseling Center, Judicial Affairs, Student Health Center and the Women's Resource Center will be available to increase faculty and staff awareness of student health issues.

Meeting adjourned 4:30 PM.