Faculty and Senate Governance Committee Annual Report 2018-2019

<u>Membership</u>

In April 2018, Angela Benson and Ibrahim Çemen were elected as co-chairs of the FSG committee. The membership consisted of Angela Benson, Ibrahim Çemen, Janie Hubbard, William Martin, Gerald Waters, Cecil Robinson, Bao Yuping and Dominic Yeager (ex-officio). In January 2019, Angela Benson went to sabbatical for the calendar year of 2019. Janie Hubbard was elected to serve as co-Chair with Ibrahim Çemen. The committee held monthly meetings on the Tuesdays following the full Senate meeting in Bevill Energy Building.

Elections

The FSG committee conducted five elections.

1) Election of Commencement Marshals: In October, 2018, the committee solicited commencement marshal nominations from the full faculty. Pamela Payne-Foster was elected to serve as Commencement Marshal in December, 2018. Carly Cooper and Stacy Allen were elected to serve commencement Marshals in May, 2019. In October, 2018, there was not any nominee for the summer 2019 commencement. The committee sent another call in February, 2019, for the summer, 2019 commencement. Ian Brown was elected to serve as the summer, 2019 commencement.

2) Election of Mediation Committee members: In November, 2018, due to a change in the Bylaws, the terms of office for this committee changed from a calendar year appointment to an academic year appointment. We contacted all of the current members about their willingness to extend their terms to match up with the new terms, and identified a schedule of elections to match the new schedule of vacancies. In March 2019, we issued a call for nominations to replace the two members whose terms end in August, 2019.

3) Election for the Merger and Discontinuance Committee vacancy: Jeremy Zelkowski, College of Education, was elected unanimously.

4) Election of Ombudsperson: In January 2019, the committee solicited nominations from the Business and Engineering colleges. Linda Parsons was elected.

5) Election of Senate Officers: In February 2019, the committee solicited nominations from the full Senate for 2019-20 Senate Officers. Rona Donahoe was nominated for President; Chapman Greer was nominated for Vice President; and Barbara Dahlbach was nominated for Secretary. The vote of the full Senate was conducted at the March Faculty Senate meeting and all nominees were elected unanimously.

The Faculty and Senate Governance committee contacted faculty senate members who were absent from the faculty senate meetings more than two times during the academic year of 2018-2019. They all had legitimate reasons to miss the meetings that they were not present.

Ibrahim Çemen, and Janie Hubbard, Co-chairs