Faculty and Senate Governance Committee Annual Report 2020-20201

Membership

In April 2019, Jeri Zemke and Ibrahim Çemen were elected as co-chairs of the FSG committee. The membership consisted of Ibrahim Çemen, Jeri Zemke, Carla Blakey, Heather Elliott, Luvada Harrison, Robert Ritter, and Edith Szanto. The committee held monthly Zoom meetings on Tuesdays, a week after the full Senate meetings.

Elections run by the Faculty and Senate Governance Committee

In previous years, the Governance Committee ran elections for Commencement Marshals for Fall, Spring and Summer Semesters. However, during the 2020-21 academic year, commencement ceremonies were conducted without Marshals due to social distancing restrictions during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The Governance Committee ran other elections as planned. These elections and their results are as follows:

1) Ombudsperson

In January 2020, the committee solicited nominations and ran a Qualtrics based election to elect an Ombudsperson. Dr. Cathy Pagini was elected to a three year term starting on January 1, 2022, as the representative of the College of Arts and Sciences.

2) Mediation Committee

The committee solicited nominations and ran a Qualtrics based election to elect two members for 3-year terms.

Dr. Lauri Bonnici (CCIS) and Dr. Ron Dulek (CBC) were elected for three year terms starting on August 16, 2021.

3) Committee on University Committees

The FS Governance committee solicited nominations and ran a Qualtrics based election to elect two members for 3-year terms and one member for a one year replacement position.

Dr. Rona Donahoe and Dr. Janie Hubbard were elected for two-year terms starting on August 16, 2021 and Dr. Mercy Mumba was elected to a one-year sabbatical replacement position starting on August 16, 2021.

4) Faculty Senate Officers

The committee asked for LOIs from the senators for Faculty Senate Officers elections from the Senators. The Committee ran a Zoom based election during the March meeting of the Faculty Senate. The following candidates were elected to the following positions.

Dr. Chapman Greer: President Dr. Matthew Hudnall: Vice President Dr. Barbara Dahlbach: Secretary