## **FACULTY SENATE MEETING 4-20-21**

The Faculty Senate new senator and alternate orientation was held prior to the full Faculty Senate meeting. The recorded session and the power point presentation will be posted on the Faculty Senate web page.

ATTENDANCE: Paulo Araujo, Julia Bannerman, Sheila Black, Serena Blount, Seth Bordner, Ibrahim Cemen, Spyridoula (Litsa) Cheimariou, Sagy Cohen, Jeremy Crawford, Alexis Davis Hazell, Susan Dewey, Rona Donahoe, Amanda Espy-Brown, Courtney Helfrecht, Kim Lackey, Nathan Loewen, Christopher Lynn, Lyndell McDonald, Moises Molina, Luke Niiler, Shanlin Pan, Regina Range, Rainer Schad, Edith Szanto, Alexandre Tokovinine, Bulent Tosun, Laura Erin Watley, Bo Zhang, Yong Zhang, Tom Baker, Doug Bish, Jennifer Dempsey, Todd DeZoort, Chapman Greer, Ruth Ann Hall, Matthew Hudnall, BC Kim, Brian Britt, Cynthia Peacock, Bharat Mehra, Alyx Vesey, Steven Yates, Cecily Collins, Suzanne Henson, Nelle Williams, Andrea Wright, Tracie Hinton, Joy Burnham, Nirmala Erevelles, Michael Lawson, Sara McDaniel, Stephanie Shelton, Nicole Swoszowski, Sriram Aaleti, Jaber Abu-Qahouq, Xiaoyan Hong, Sushma Kotru, Sundar Krishnan, Patrick Kung, Weihua Su, John Van Zee, Jialai Wang, David Taylor, John Latta, Carla Blakey, Barbara "Babs" Davis, Yeon Ho Shin, Jeri Zemke, Heather Elliott, Paul Horwitz, Dan Joyner, Barb Dahlbach, Russell Peterson, Michael Callihan, Susan Appel, Rebecca Owings, Kim Parker, Leah Cheatham, Amy Traylor.

ABSENT WITH ALTERNATE: Mary Stone/Tom Lopez; Amy Ellis/Michael Stellefson.

ABSENT: Kim Colburn, Brittany Gilmer, Alessandra Montalbano, John Petrovic, Robert Riter, Hank Lazer.

PRESS: Laura Braddick, Strategic Communications.

**GUESTS:** Luvada Harrison, Matthew Davis, Dale Dickerson, Gregg Bell, Holly Swain, Elizabeth Woodruff, Mark Weaver, Keith Williams, Michelle Hale, Nathaniel Bray.

Roll call and quorum check by Faculty Senate Secretary Barb Dahlbach.

The Faculty Senate meeting minutes of March 23, 2021 were approved.

Robert Riter is confirmed as Faculty Senate Parliamentarian.

**President's Report** – (Chapman Greer) UA operations will return to normal on May 15, 2021. Special accommodations for extenuating circumstances may be made when necessary.

The offered probationary tenure-track faculty to extend their probationary period by one year excluding faculty with official appointment dates of April 15, 2020 or later has been extended for an optional one year with certain conditions. This is offered to probationary faculty that may have declined to register for an extension when originally offered.

The UA Board of Trustees met in Huntsville on April 8 and 9, 2021 where discussions included new construction on each of the three campuses.

Faculty Senate end-of-year committee reports are due by May 7, 2021.

**Vice President's Report** – (*Matthew Hudnall*) Vice President Hudnall virtually attended the Board of Trustees Financial and Physical Property Committee meetings. The installation of the elephant statue, "Tuska", on UA's campus was discussed.

**Secretary's Report** – (*Barb Dahlbach*) The Senate committees were approved as submitted by the Faculty Senate.

The following co-chairs were selected by the individual committees.

**Faculty Senate Standing Committee Co-chairs** 

Academic Affairs - Babs Davis & Rona Donahoe

Community & Legislative Affairs – Joy Burnham & Steven Yates

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion – Lyndell McDonald & Luke Niiler

Faculty Life - Heather Elliott & Ruth Ann Hall

Faculty & Senate Governance – Ibrahim Cemen & Jeri Zemke

Financial Affairs – Byung-Cheol Kim & Mary Stone

Information Technology & Strategic Communications – Patrick Kung & Nathan Loewen

Research & Service - Douglas Bish & Shanlin Pan

Student Life – Jennifer Dempsey & Amy Traylor

**Transforming Campus Culture (taskforce)** – Leah Cheatham, Litsa Cheimariou, Barb Dahlbach, Brittany Gilmer, Sundar Krishnan, Christopher Lynn, Russel Peterson, Regina Range, Alyx Vesey.

The Senate Representatives to the UA Standing Committees were approved by as follows.

## **UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES – FACULTY SENATE REPRESENTATIVES**

Awards – Alyx Vesey

Campus Master Plan – Jeremy Crawford

Campus Security & Safety – Brittany Gilmer

Committee on External Scholarships & Fellowships – Joy Burnham

**Committee on University Committees – Nathan Loewen** 

Conflict of Interest – Todd DeZoort

**Core Curriculum Oversight** – Sundar Krishnan

**Equal Opportunity – Sheila Black** 

Faculty & Staff Benefits – Rona Donahoe

Graduate Council - Jaber Abu-Qahouq

Health & Safety - Cecily Collins

**Human Relations Council – Moises Molina** 

**Information Technology** – Brian Britt

Institutional Animal Care & Use – Nicole Swoszowski

**Institutional Biological Safety –** Clara Rebecca Owings

Institutional Review Board - Medical - Michael Callihan

Institutional Review Board - Non-Medical - Sara McDaniel

**Intercollegiate Athletics –** Matthew Hudnall

**Interim Program Coordination –** Barbara Dahlbach

International Education – Sushma Kotru

**Libraries** – Alexis Davis-Hazell

Media Planning Board - John Latta

Parking & Transportation – Matthew Hudnall

Research Grants - Patrick Kung

**Student & Campus Life** – Jennifer Dempsey

Student Health - Michael Lawson

**Teacher Education Council** – Julie Bannerman

**Technology & Learning – Russel Peterson** 

**Undergraduate Council** – Edith Szanto

**University Recreation** – Heather Elliott

The appointments for UA Standing Committees serve from August 16<sup>th</sup> to August 15<sup>th</sup> of the following year which is different from the Faculty Senate senator terms.

Adjourned at 4:44