#### Faculty and Senate Governance Committee Annual Report 2020-20201

#### Membership

In April 2021, Jeri Zemke and Ibrahim Çemen were elected as co-chairs of the FSG committee. The membership consisted of Ibrahim Çemen, Jeri Zemke, Carla Blakely, Luvada Harrison, Robert Ritter, and Edith Szanto. The committee held monthly Zoom meetings on theTuesdays, a week after the full Senate meetings.

#### Elections run by the Faculty and Senate Governance Committee

In previous years, the Governance Committee run elections for Commencement Marshals for Fall, Spring and Summer, Semesters. However, during the 2021-22 academic year, commencement ceremonies were conducted without Marshals due to restriction during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The Governance Committee run other elections as planned. These elections and their results are as follows:

# 1) Ombudsperson

In January 2020, the committee solicited nominations and run a Qualtrics based election to elect an Ombudsperson. Dr. Cathy Pagini was elected to a three year term starting on January 1, 2022, as the representative of the College of Arts and Sciences. However, Dr. Pagani retired from the University of Alabama as December 2021. The FS Faculty and Senate Governance Committee run elections to replace Dr. Pagani. Dr. Kevin Shaughnessy was elected during the election. The Committee also run an election to replace Dr. \_\_\_\_\_\_. Dr. Stacey Robinson was elected to to be a US Ombdusperson dtarting on January 1, 2023.

# 2) Mediation Committee

The committee solicited nominations and run a Qualtrics based election to elect an two members for 3-year terms. and one member for a one year replacement position. Jeri Can you write the details of these elections

# 3) Committee on University Committees

The FS Governance committee solicited nominations and run a Qualtrics based election to elect two members for 3-year terms and one member for a one year replacement position.

Dr. Rona Donahoe and Dr. Janie Hubbard were elected for two year terms starting on August 16, 2021 and Dr. Mercy Mumba was elected to a one-year sabbatical replacement position starting on August 16, 2021.

Dr. Janie Hubbard retired as of December 2021. Dr. \_\_\_\_\_ was elected to replace Dr. Hubbard on the Committee

# 4) Faculty Senate Officers

The committee asked for LOIs from the senators for Faculty Senate Officers elections from the Senators. The Committee run a Zoom based election during the March, 2022 meeting of the Faculty Senate. The following candidates were elected to the following positions.

Dr. Chapman Greer: President

Dr. Matthew Hudnall: Vice President

Dr. Barbara Dahlbach: Secretary

The committee also ran Qualtrics elections on:

- a) General Education Task Force Statements Voting
- b) Tenure Clock Extension due to COVID-19 Campus closure

Both issues were unanimously approved by the Members of the Faculty Senate.