FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES April 18, 2023 - 1008 Nursing – 3:30 PM

ATTENDANCE: Matthew Hudnall, Steven Yates, Sheila Black, Paulo Araujo, Edith Szanto, Ian Crawford, Matt Reynolds, Weihua Su, Sundar Krishnan, Marysia Galbraith, Sushma Kotru, Shanlin Pan, Kelly McPherson, John Giggie, Sara-Maria Sorentino, Brian Clark, Nirmala Erevelles, Carrie Turner, Ruth Ann Hall, John Petrovic, Soledad Sanchez, Erin Stoneking, Kristi Acker, Stephanie Ann Shelton, Ruigang Wang, Shibin Dai, Susan Welch, Tom Baker, Jessica Geothals, Natasha Dimova, AJ Bauer, Kim Boyle, Jeri Zemke, Carl Hancock, Stacy Hughey Surman, Alison Hooper, Charlotte Wegrzynowski, Mike Calihan, Nathan Culmer, Babs Davis, Rona Donahoe, Micah McKay, Theodore Tomeny, Gayle Faught, Rebecca Owings, Hazan Isomitdinov, Renata Fuchs, Serena Blount, Courtney Helfrecht, Kim Colburn, Susan Williams, Di Luo, Greg Starr, Heather Elliott, Thang Dao, Tori Jessen, JoAnne Payne, Rebecca Totten, Jennie Northam, Sara Whitver, Shane Stinson, Sara McDaniel, Dale Dickinson, Courtney McGahey, Shreyas Rao, Mallory Scogin, Bruce Barrett, Chapman Greer, Aislinn O'Donohoe Riley, Seth Stewart, Brenda Smith, Gary Sullivan, Anil Mujumdar, Harold Selesky

ABSENT: Craig Armstrong, Nikhil Bilwakesh, Ibrahim Cemen, Jenni Cox, Charles (Ian) Crawford, John Estes, Thomas Herwig, Xiaoyan Hong, Tonya Klein, Leah LeFebvre, Lyndell McDonald, Bharat Mehra, Clay Voorhees, David Walker

ABSENT WITH ALTERNATE: Jay Kim/Dongjae Lim, Patrick Kung/Keith Williams, Nelle Williams/Andrea Wright

GUESTS: Caryl Cooper (TUARA), Adam Ghazi-Tehrani (A&S Alt), Jessica Patterson (PSA), Matthew Valasik (A&S Alt), Tyler Walker (A&S Alt)

PRESS: Laura Braddick (Strat. Comm.)

Senate Leadership Transition – Past President Chapman Greer read a retirement statement for Faculty Senate Executive Secretary, Mrs. Linda Knowles. The Faculty Senate gavel was presented to the new Faculty Senate President, Matthew Hudnall, by Chapman Greer, Past President. Matthew Hudnall presented an engraved gavel to Chapman Greer to commemorate her two years of service as Faculty Senate President.

Roll Call and Quorum Check - (*Rona Donahoe*) - Attendance was taken via a Qualtrics poll QR code. A quorum was confirmed by a head count.

Approval/Correction of the Minutes for Mar 21, 2023 – (Rona Donahoe) - The March 21, 2023 minutes were approved unanimously.

President's Report – (Matthew Hudnall)

Senate introductory remarks – President Hudnall welcomed new and returning Senators.
New Senators were encouraged to explore the Faculty Senate website, which includes a
History of the first 25 years of the UA Faculty Senate written by Wythe Holt. President
Hudnall announced a new initiative to write a history of the second 25 years of the UA
Faculty Senate and invited interested Senators to participate.

- Committee Approval and Co-Chair Selection Process A vote was held that approved the appointments to Faculty Senate and University Standing Committees, as distributed with the meeting agenda. Faculty Senate Committees met to elect 2023-2024 committee co-chairs:
 - o Academic Affairs: Babs Davis and Rona Donahoe
 - o Community and Legislative Affairs: Serena Blount and John Giggie
 - o DEI: Sheila Black and Thomas Herwig
 - o Faculty Life: Kim Colburn and Heather Elliot
 - o Faculty and Senate Governance: Ruth Ann Hall and Jeri Zemke
 - o Financial Affairs: Tom Baker and Shane Stinson
 - o IT and Strategic Communications: Xiaoyan Hong and Patrick Kung
 - o Research and Service: Shanlin Pan and Clay Voorhees
 - o Student Life: Dale Dickinson and Carrie Turner
 - Transforming Campus Culture Taskforce: Bruce Barrett and Jennie Northam
- Parliamentarian Affirmation Robert Riter was confirmed as Faculty Senate Parliamentarian.
- Call for Webmaster Shanlin Pan was confirmed as Faculty Senate Webmaster.
- CUC confirmation vote- Stacy Alley was elected to replace Mercy Mumba on the Committee on University Committees with a 3-year term.
- Legislation update The Divisive Concepts bill was passed by a 9 to 3 House committee vote but has not come before the full House. A companion bill is expected but has not yet been introduced. UA lobbyists have not requested changes to the companion bill but will do so if it comes to the House floor or Senate. SB-180 was introduced as counterlegislation that would require accurate history to be taught in K-12 classrooms. The Education Budget will be released the first week of May.
- Highlights of the June 8-9 Board of Trustees (BOT) Meeting:
 - o 2023-2024 Tuition Increases: UAB (3% in-state); UA and UAH (0% in-state); UA (3% for OOS)
 - University Club Renovation: A 10-year management plan includes 30 honorary memberships.
 - Nursing and Cyber Security Training: Received high interest from Board members.
 - Admissions: The no-test option was extended to Fall 2024. Must be approved by the BOT to become permanent. Students must present test scores to be scholarship eligible. The success rate of students admitted without test scores is only 1% lower than for students with test scores. The BOT will continue to track student success data.

Vice President's Report – (Steven Yates) – No report

Secretary's Report – (*Rona Donahoe*) - No report

Senate Committee Reports:

- Faculty & Senate Governance (Ruth Ann Hall and Jeri Zemke)
 - o Outcome of the Merger and Discontinuance vote

- Reminder about the Call for Nominations for the Mediation Committee that will close on 4/28/23. Nominations must be for CCHS, Law, Social Work or University Libraries faculty.
- Academic Affairs (Babs Davis and Rona Donahoe) No report
- Community & Legislative Affairs (Serena Blount and John Giggie)
 - o Brewer Porch Faculty/Staff Appreciation Luncheon will be held on May 11, 2023 at 11:00 a.m.
- Research & Service (Shanlin Pan and Clay Voorhees)
 - Research/IRB survey results analysis Survey data is being analyzed from 208 faculty responses. The results will be posted and shared with the Provost and VP for Research and Economic Development
 - Subvention Efforts The Committee has requested central funding for open access publishing fees.
 - o IRB Plans Concerns were raised that IRB plans are being audited without notice. PIs must produce and review all consent forms and dates.
- Faculty Life (Kim Colburn and Heather Elliott) No report
- IT & Strategic Communications (Xiaoyan Hong and Patrick Kung)
 - Employees currently do not have the option to use their preferred last name in UA email.
 - o Simple Syllabus: Replaces Online Syllabus Management, effective Summer 2023.
 - o New OIT Communications Director: Barrett Elder
 - ChatGPT All input information is insecure. Do not input any personal or proprietary information.
- **Diversity, Equity & Inclusion** (Sheila Black and Thomas Herwig)
 - DEI Summit Friday, April 21st Breakfast organized/funded by DEI to discuss better cooperation between various DEI organization and to set an agenda for campus DEI initiatives during the coming year.
- Financial Affairs (Tom Baker and Shane Stinson)
 - Faculty Salaries/Compensation Study Will continue to request granular salary data from OIRA.
- **Student Life** (Dale Dickinson and Carrie Turner) No report

Reports from Other Committees

- Compliance Committee Proposed training window will be Sep 1 Oct 31 again this year. Looking for participants for the pilot compliance training in July. Anyone who participates in the pilot won't have to do that training during the official window.
- Faculty and Staff Benefits Committee David Bertanzetti is retiring as the Director of Benefits and a search for his replacement is underway.

Old Business - None

New Business - None

Reminders

• Next FS Meeting: August 22nd, 2023 – Venue: 1008 Nursing

Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 PM.