# Faculty and Senate Governance Committee Annual Report 2022-2023

## Membership

In April 2022, Jeri Zemke and Ruth Ann Hall were elected as co-chairs of the Faculty Senate Governance Committee. Membership consisted of Jeri Zemke, Ruth Ann Hall, Kristi Acker, Robert Ritter, Nicole Swoszowski, Edith Szanto, and David Walker. The committee held monthly Zoom meetings on Tuesdays, one week after the full Senate meetings.

## **Elections run by the Faculty and Senate Governance Committee**

- Commencement Marshals for May Graduation: The Faculty Governance Committee opened its Call for Nominations (using a Qualtrics-based survey) for Spring 2023 Commencement Marshals on February 21<sup>st</sup>, 2023. The seven marshals who were nominated and accepted the nomination were:
  - Dr. Joy Burnham (Counselor Education)
  - Dr. Felecia Wood (Nursing)
  - Dr. Debra Nelson-Gardell (Social Work)
  - Dr. Luvada Harrison (Theater)
  - Dr. Jimmy Mixon
  - Dr. Xiachun (Martin) Liu (Economics, Finance & Legal Studies)
  - Dr. Mary Stone (Accounting)

### 2) Ombudsperson

On December 9<sup>th</sup>, 2022 the committee opened its Call for Nominations (using a Qualtrics-based survey) for the position of Ombudsperson. Two nominations were received (Robert A. McWilliam and Joann Oliver). Dr. McWilliam self-nominated himself, however, Joann Oliver was not consulted prior to being nominated and requested to be withdrawn for consideration. Thusly, Dr. McWilliam was appointed to a three-year term starting on January 1, 2024, as the representative of the College of Education. He will replace Lance Kinney, whose term will expire 12/31/2023.

## 3) Merger or Discontinuance of Academic Units Committee

On February 8<sup>th</sup>, 2023 the committee opened its Call for Nominations (using a Qualtrics-based survey) for the Merger or Discontinuance of Academic Units Committee. Three nominations were received (Matthew Stratton, Robert A. McWilliam, and Health Turner). However, Matthew Stratton was not tenured and was withdrawn from consideration. The Faculty Senate elected Dr. Robert McWilliam, appointed to a three-year term starting January 1, 2024. He will replace Kevin Shaughnessy, whose term will expire on 12/31/2023.

## 4) Mediation Committee

On April 6<sup>th</sup>, the committee opened its Call for Nominations (using a Qualtrics-based survey) to elect two members for 3-year terms that would begin 08/16/2023 and expire on 8/15/2026. Heather Elliott (School of Law) and Ramana Reddy (College of Engineering) are serving terms that will expire on 8/15/2023.

Nominations from the following colleges were included in the original Call for Nominations:

Capstone College of Nursing, College of Community Health Sciences, College of Engineering, School of Law and University Libraries.

On May 4<sup>th</sup>, I was contacted by Laurie Bonnici re: her rolling off 08/15/2023 secondary to her filling the position mid-term (to replace Dr. Cathy Pagini who retired). Therefore, the College of Communication & Information Sciences has been added to the Call for Nominations. On May 10<sup>th</sup>, 2023 I reached out to the Assistant/Associate Deans for each college from which we can accept nominations to request their assistance in securing individuals willing to serve.

As of May 11, 2023, we have two nominations for the Mediation Committee: Dr. Mercy Mumba (College of Nursing; nominated by Dr. Suzanne Prevost) Dr. Alum Blum (College of Community Health Sciences; nominated by Dr. Richard Friend)

#### 4) Faculty Senate Officers

The committee asked for Letters of Intent from the senators for Faculty Senate Officers The following candidates were elected to the following positions:

Dr. Matthew Hudnall: President Dr. Steven Yates: Vice President Dr. Rona Donahue: Secretary